Before Tuhund we had 11 isolated systems for our two companies and their branches. We have several customers who were customers for more than one branches and therefore had entries in multiple systems. Now after migrating data from old systems to Tuhund ERP, we have several cases of duplicate customers in master records, many with slight difference in names. How do we delete duplicate customers?
You can go to crm >> all business entities and merge duplicate records. Merging two (or more) companies into one will merge all their records except ledgers. Ledgers or entities that are removed will be transferred to the entity that is retained (merged with) and under receivable / payable you will see the combined data, however ledgers will be retained as they were. The choice is left to you to leave ledgers as they are, to merge the ledgers as well or to make a journal entry to transfer the closing balance of unwanted to ledgers of the same customer / vendor to the ledger that you want to retain. You will also need to be careful about addresses and contact persons. When you merge one company into another, normally both have addresses and contact persons. Each one could even have multiple addresses and multiple contacts. While merging system will compare each address of one entity to each address of other company. Addresses that exactly match each other will not be duplicated. However, if there is variance in addresses that are supposed to be same, system will not be able to identify them and will retain both addresses. It is the same with contact persons. Therefore, merging companies to remove duplicate company records might result in duplication of a few addresses and / or contact persons.
As far as deleting is concerned, Tuhund will not give you an option to delete a company record if there are any transactions including inquiries, quotations, proforma invoices, commercial invoices, sales orders, tasks, events, financial transactions or any other kind of record for that matter. Therefore, for any company if you see the delete button and you feel the record is redundant, please go ahead and delete it. It s completely safe.
Still you are still under implementation phase and number of records could be high, I would advise you to raise a service request and our staff will handle the issue in bulk. Please be assured, we will remove nothing without your approval. We will first give you excel file marking all duplicate looking records as well as which records will be removed and which will be retained.